Friday, June 22, 2018
Landlord Information

The U.S. Department of Housing And Urban Development (HUD) provides funding for the Housing Choice Voucher Program, which allows income eligible families to afford decent, safe and sanitary housing in the private market. Families are able to find their own housing where the owner agrees to rent under the program. Generally households do not pay more than 40% of their income for rent and utilities. The Irvington Housing Authority (IHA) pays a set amount directly to the landlord and the renter pays the difference.

All units must meet the Housing Quality Standards (HQS) established by HUD. IHA inspectors conduct annual unit inspections to ensure compliance with these standards. IHA will also perform a rent comparability analysis to ensure the requested rent does not exceed market rates. Other than expecting a portion of the rent regularly each month from the Housing Authority, owners have the same type of renter/landlord relationship that they have with market renters.

IHA, the property owner, and the family have different roles and responsibilities as outlined below:


  • Maintains and updates the waiting list, conducts background checks, review applications for the Housing Choice Program eligibility.
  • Certifies program eligibility and conducts annual re-certifications for continued eligibility.
  • Inspects and certifies that the unit meets Housing Quality Standards and approves units for leasing and contracts. 
  • Determines amounts and pays Housing Assistance Payments to the landlord on behalf of the family. 
  • Monitors program performance and compliance of participants and owners.


  • Screens tenants & Selects family to lease the unit 
  • Performs all management and rental functions & Performs all ordinary maintenance 
  • Complies with the Housing Assistance Payments (HAP) contract 
  • Complies with the lease and assisted lease addendum requirements 


  • Finds a suitable unit
  • Provides income and family information needed to verify and certify continued program eligibility 
  • Allows IHA to inspect unit 
  • Adheres to lease requirements & Abides by all family obligations under the Housing Choice program

Legislation contained in the Civil Rights Act of 1998, Title VIII, as amended, is commonly referred to as the Fair Housing Act. This law established a national policy of providing fair housing throughout the United States. The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing because of:

  • Race or Color
  • National Origin 
  • Religion 
  • Sex
  • Family Status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians; pregnant women and people securing custody of children under the age of 18) 
  • Handicap

Fair housing is a right afforded to all persons seeking housing, whether they are Housing Choice Voucher Program participants or private market renters. It is your obligation as an owner to comply with the law that guarantees this right.